Language selection

Search

Annex 3
Tax Measures – Supplementary Information

On this page:

Enhanced Support for Teachers

Under current rules, teachers and early childhood educators may claim a 15-per-cent refundable tax credit based on an amount of up to $1,000 in expenditures made in a taxation year for eligible supplies.

Eligible supplies must be purchased for use in a school or in a regulated child care facility for the purpose of teaching or facilitating students’ learning. Eligible supplies include the following durable goods: books; games and puzzles; containers (such as plastic boxes or banker boxes); and educational support software. Eligible supplies also include consumable goods, such as construction paper for activities, flashcards or activity centres.

For the cost of supplies to qualify for the credit, employers are required, at the request of the Minister of National Revenue, to certify that the supplies were purchased for the purpose of teaching or facilitating students’ learning. Individuals making claims are required to retain their receipts for verification purposes. The credit may not be claimed in respect of an amount that has already been claimed under any other provision of the Income Tax Act.

Electronic devices are not in general included in the list of prescribed durable goods for the purposes of the Eligible Educator School Supply Tax Credit, and while the Canada Revenue Agency has taken the position that an online classroom may be considered an extension of the physical school, this position would not generally apply outside the context of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The 2021 Fall Economic Statement proposes to make the tax credit more generous by increasing the rate of the refundable tax credit to 25 per cent. Additionally, this measure would clarify and broaden the rules regarding the locations where teaching supplies are permitted to be used by removing the requirement that teaching supplies must be used in a school or regulated child care facility to be eligible. This measure would also expand the list of eligible durable goods to include certain electronic devices.

The following items would be added to the list of prescribed durable goods:

At the request of the Minister of National Revenue, an eligible educator making a claim would be required to provide a certificate from their employer attesting to the eligible supplies, including the additional conditions with respect to laptop, desktop and tablet computers.

This measure would apply to the 2021 and subsequent taxation years.

Small Businesses Air Quality Improvement Tax Credit

To encourage small businesses to invest in better ventilation and air filtration to improve indoor air quality, the Government proposes to introduce a temporary Small Businesses Air Quality Improvement Tax Credit. The refundable tax credit would be available to eligible entities in respect of qualifying expenditures attributable to air quality improvements in qualifying locations incurred between September 1, 2021 and December 31, 2022.

Tax Credit Rate and Limits

The tax credit would be refundable and have a credit rate of 25 per cent that would apply to an eligible entity’s qualifying expenditures. An eligible entity would be limited to a maximum of $10,000 in qualifying expenditures per qualifying location and a maximum of $50,000 across all qualifying locations. The limits on qualifying expenditures would need to be shared among affiliated businesses. Consistent with the general treatment of business tax credits, credit amounts would be included in the taxable income of the business in the taxation year the credit is claimed.

Eligible Entities

Eligible entities for a taxation year would include unincorporated sole proprietors and Canadian-controlled private corporations with taxable capital employed in Canada of less than $15 million in the taxation year immediately preceding the taxation year in which the qualifying expenditure is incurred. For this purpose, the taxable capital of associated corporations is also counted.

The credit would also be available where qualified expenses are incurred by a partnership. The credit could only be claimed by members of the partnership that are qualifying corporations or individuals (other than trusts), and would be based on their proportionate interest in the partnership. Special rules would apply to calculate a partner’s credit entitlement where a partnership interest is held indirectly through one or more partnerships.

Qualifying Expenditures

Qualifying expenditures would include expenses directly attributable to the purchase, installation, upgrade, or conversion of mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) systems, as well as the purchase of devices designed to filter air using high efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filters, the primary purpose of which is to increase outdoor air intake or to improve air cleaning or air filtration.

Expenses attributable to an HVAC system would only be considered qualifying expenditures if the system is:

Qualifying expenditures for an eligible entity would exclude an expense:

An expense that may be considered a qualifying expenditure would be reduced by the amount of any government assistance received by the eligible entity in respect of that expense.

Qualifying Locations

Qualifying locations would include properties used by an eligible entity primarily in the course of its ordinary commercial activities in Canada (including rental activities), excluding self-contained domestic establishments (i.e., a place of residence in which a person generally sleeps or eats).

Timing

The tax credit would be available in respect of qualifying expenditures incurred between September 1, 2021 and December 31, 2022.

The taxation year for which an eligible entity would claim the tax credit would depend on when the qualifying expenditure was incurred.

Returning the proceeds from the price on pollution directly to farmers

Under the federal carbon pollution pricing system, the government applies a price on pollution in jurisdictions that do not have their own system.

The Government of Canada does not keep any direct proceeds from pollution pricing. All direct fuel charge proceeds are returned to the province or territory of origin in the following way:

Recognizing that many farmers use natural gas and propane in their operations, and consistent with the Budget 2021 commitment, the government proposes to return fuel charge proceeds directly to farming businesses in backstop jurisdictions via a refundable tax credit, starting for the 2021-22 fuel charge year.

Eligible Farming Businesses

The return of fuel charge proceeds would be available to corporations, individuals and trusts that are actively engaged in either the management or day-to-day activities of earning income from farming (i.e., the raising of animals and harvesting of plants in a controlled environment) and incur total farming expenses of $25,000 or more, all or a portion of which are attributable to backstop jurisdictions. This would include where they carry on business through a partnership.

Credit Determination

The credit amount in respect of an eligible farm business for an applicable fuel charge year would be equal to the eligible farming expenses attributable to backstop jurisdictions in the calendar year when the fuel charge year starts, multiplied by a payment rate, as specified by the Minister of Finance for the fuel charge year. Consistent with the general treatment of business tax credits, credit amounts would be included in the taxable income of the business in the taxation year the credit is claimed.

Where an eligible farming business is carried on through a partnership, the credit would be claimed by a corporation, individual or trust that is a partner in the partnership at the end of the partnership’s fiscal period. The partnership would calculate the total amount of eligible farming expenses and each partner would then calculate their credit entitlement based on their proportionate interest in the partnership. Special rules would apply to calculate a partner’s credit entitlement where a partnership interest is held indirectly through one or more partnerships.

Eligible Farming Expenses

For the purposes of calculating this tax credit, eligible farming expenses are amounts deducted in computing income from farming for tax purposes, excluding any deductions arising from mandatory and optional inventory adjustments and transactions with non-arm’s length parties.

Where taxation years do not align with the calendar year, eligible farming expenses would be allocated to each calendar year based on the number of days in each calendar year over the total days in the taxation year, and subjected to the applicable payment rate for the calendar year.

To be eligible farming expenses, expenses must also be attributable to one or more backstop jurisdictions. For businesses operating in multiple jurisdictions, eligible farming expenses as described above would be apportioned by jurisdiction according to the following allocation rules.

Payment Rates

The Minister of Finance has specified payment rates for eligible farming expenses that are incurred in the 2021 and 2022 calendar years, which correspond to returns of fuel charge proceeds from the 2021-22 and 2022-23 fuel charge years respectively. Businesses can claim these refundable tax credits through their tax returns that include the 2021 and 2022 calendar years.

Table A3.1
Payment Rates for Farmers, as Specified by the Minister of Finance
  2021 2022
Amount per $1,000 in eligible farming expenses $1.47 $1.73

Underused Housing Tax

In Budget 2021, the Government announced its intention to implement a national, annual 1-per-cent tax on the value of non-resident, non-Canadian owned residential real estate in Canada that is considered to be vacant or underused (the “Underused Housing Tax”). A consultation was held, through the Department of Finance, from August 6 to September 17, 2021, and, where appropriate, feedback received from stakeholders has been taken into consideration as part of the final design of the proposed taxation framework.

As a result, in addition to exemptions described in the consultation paper, it is proposed that an owner’s interest in a residential property would be exempt from the Underused Housing Tax for a calendar year if a residence that is part of the residential property is, in respect of the calendar year, the primary place of residence of: (1) the owner; (2) the owner’s spouse or common-law partner; or (3) an individual that is the child of the owner or of the owner’s spouse or common-law partner, but only if the child is in Canada for the purposes of authorized study and the occupancy relates to that purpose.

Furthermore, the government plans to bring forward an exemption for vacation/recreational properties, which would apply to an owner’s interest in a residential property for a calendar year if the property: (1) is located in an area of Canada that is not an urban area within either a census metropolitan area or a census agglomeration having 30,000 or more residents; and (2) is personally used by the owner (or the owner’s spouse or common-law partner) for at least four weeks in the calendar year.

An owner eligible for either of the above exemptions would claim the exemption in the annual return that they would be required to file with the Canada Revenue Agency in respect of the residential property.

It is proposed that the Underused Housing Tax be effective for the 2022 calendar year. 

The initial Underused Housing Tax returns, for the 2022 calendar year, would be required to be filed with the Canada Revenue Agency on or before April 30, 2023 and any tax payable would be required to be remitted on or before that date.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Annexe 3
Mesures fiscales — Renseignements supplémentaires

Sur cette page :

Soutien accru pour le personnel enseignant

Selon les règles actuelles, les enseignants et les éducateurs de la petite enfance peuvent demander un crédit d’impôt remboursable de 15 % pour des dépenses totalisant au plus 1 000 $, effectuées dans une année d’imposition pour des fournitures admissibles.

Les fournitures admissibles doivent être achetées en vue d’être utilisées dans une école ou un établissement de garde d’enfants réglementé à des fins d’enseignement ou d’aide à l’apprentissage des élèves. Les fournitures admissibles incluent les biens durables suivants : les livres, les jeux et les casse-têtes, les contenants (comme des boîtes de plastique ou des boîtes de rangement); et les logiciels de soutien éducatifs. Les fournitures admissibles incluent également des fournitures consommables telles que du papier de bricolage pour les activités, des cartes-éclair ou des centres d’activités.

Pour que le coût des fournitures soit admissible au crédit, les employeurs doivent, à la demande du ministre du Revenu national, attester que les fournitures ont été achetées à des fins d’enseignement ou d’aide à l’apprentissage des élèves. Les particuliers qui réclament le crédit sont tenus de conserver leurs reçus à des fins de vérification. Le crédit ne peut être réclamé relativement à un montant ayant déjà été réclamé en vertu d’une autre disposition de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu.

Les appareils électroniques ne sont généralement pas inclus dans la liste des biens durables visés par règlement aux fins du crédit d’impôt pour fournitures scolaires d’éducateur admissible, et bien que l’ARC ait adopté la position qu’une salle de classe virtuelle peut être considérée comme une extension de la salle de classe physique, cette position ne s’appliquerait généralement pas en dehors du contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19.

L’Énoncé économique de l’automne de 2021 propose de rendre le crédit d’impôt plus généreux en l’augmentant à 25 %. De plus, cette mesure permettra de préciser et d’étendre les règles relativement aux emplacements où les fournitures scolaires peuvent être utilisées en éliminant l’obligation que ces fournitures  soient utilisées dans une école ou un établissement de garde d’enfants réglementé pour être admissibles. Cette mesure élargirait également la liste des biens durables admissibles pour inclure certains appareils électroniques.

Les articles suivants seraient ajoutés à la liste des biens durables visés par règlement :

À la demande du ministre du Revenu national, un éducateur admissible qui réclame le crédit serait tenu de fournir un certificat de son employeur attestant des fournitures admissibles, notamment les conditions supplémentaires relatives aux ordinateurs portatifs, aux ordinateurs de bureau et aux tablettes électroniques.

Cette mesure s’appliquerait à l’année d’imposition 2021 et suivantes.

Crédit d’impôt pour petites entreprises pour l’amélioration de la qualité de l’air

Dans le but d’encourager les petites entreprises à investir dans une meilleure ventilation et filtration de l’air afin d’améliorer la qualité de l’air intérieur, le gouvernement propose d’instaurer temporairement un Crédit d’impôt pour les petites entreprises pour l’amélioration de la qualité de l’air. Le crédit d’impôt remboursable serait offert aux entités déterminées  à l’égard des dépenses admissibles attribuables à des améliorations de la qualité de l’air dans des emplacements admissibles, engagées entre le 1er septembre 2021 et le 31 décembre 2022.

Taux du crédit d’impôt et limites

Le crédit d’impôt serait remboursable à un taux de crédit de 25 % applicable aux dépenses admissibles d’une entité déterminée. Les dépenses admissibles de l’entité déterminée seraient limitées à un maximum de 10 000 $ par emplacement admissible et à un maximum de 50 000 $ pour l’ensemble des emplacements admissibles. Les limites des dépenses admissibles devront être partagées entre les entreprises affiliées. Conformément au traitement général des crédits d’impôt pour les entreprises, le montant du crédit serait inclus au revenu imposable de l’entreprise dans l’année d’imposition durant laquelle le crédit est réclamé.

Entités déterminées

Les entités déterminées pour une année d’imposition incluraient les entreprises individuelles non constituées en société et les sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien ayant un capital imposable au Canada inférieur à 15 millions de dollars dans l’année d’imposition qui précède immédiatement l’année d’imposition durant laquelle la dépense admissible est engagée. À cette fin, le capital imposable des sociétés associées est également comptabilisé.

Le crédit serait également accordé lorsque des dépenses admissibles sont engagées par une société de personnes. Le crédit pourrait uniquement être réclamé par les associés de la société de personnes qui sont soit des sociétés admissibles ou des particuliers (sauf les fiducies) et serait basé sur leur pourcentage de participation  dans la société de personnes. Des règles spéciales s’appliqueraient pour calculer le droit au crédit d’un associé lorsque sa participation dans la société de personnes est détenue indirectement par l’intermédiaire d’une ou de plusieurs sociétés de personnes.

Dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses admissibles incluraient les dépenses directement attribuables à l’achat, l’installation, la mise à niveau ou la conversion de systèmes mécaniques de chauffage, de ventilation et de conditionnement d’air (CVCA) installés dans un bâtiment, ainsi que l’achat d’appareils destinés à filtrer l’air, y compris des filtres à haute efficacité pour les particules de l’air (HEPA), dont le but principal consiste à accroître l’entrée d’air extérieur ou à améliorer la purification ou la filtration d’air.

Les dépenses attribuables à un système CVCA seraient considérées comme des dépenses admissibles uniquement dans la mesure où ce système remplit l’une des conditions suivantes :

Les dépenses admissibles pour une entité admissible excluraient les dépenses :

Une dépense qui peut être considérée comme une dépense admissible serait réduite du montant de toute aide gouvernementale reçue par l’entité déterminée à l’égard de cette dépense.

Emplacements admissibles

Les emplacements admissibles incluraient les propriétés utilisées par une entité déterminée principalement dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales ordinaires au Canada (notamment les activités de location), excluant certains établissements domestiques autonomes (c.-à-d., un lieu de résidence habituel où une personne dort et consomme ses repas).

Année d’imposition applicable

Le crédit d’impôt serait disponible relativement aux dépenses admissibles engagées entre le 1er septembre 2021 et le 31 décembre 2022.

L’année d’imposition dans laquelle une entité déterminée pourrait réclamer le crédit d’impôt dépendrait du moment où la dépense admissible a été engagée.

Reverser les produits de la tarification de la pollution directement aux agriculteurs

En vertu du système fédéral de tarification du carbone, le gouvernement applique un prix sur la pollution dans les administrations qui n’ont pas établi leur propre système.

Le gouvernement du Canada ne conserve aucune part des produits directs issus de la tarification de la pollution par le carbone. Tous les produits directs issus de la redevance sur les combustibles sont retournés à la province ou le territoire d’origine de la façon suivante :

Conscient que de nombreux agriculteurs utilisent le gaz naturel et le propane dans le cadre de leurs activités, et conformément à l’engagement du budget 2021, le gouvernement propose de retourner les produits issus de la redevance sur les combustibles directement aux agriculteurs des administrations assujetties à un filet de sécurité au moyen d’un crédit d’impôt remboursable, à compter de l’exercice 2021-2022 de la redevance sur les combustibles.

Entreprises agricoles admissibles

Le remboursement des produits de la redevance sur les combustibles serait offert aux sociétés, aux particuliers et aux fiducies qui participent activement à la gestion ou aux activités quotidiennes de la production de revenus agricole (c.-à-d., l’élevage et la récolte de plantes dans un environnement contrôlé) et qui engagent des dépenses agricoles totales de 25 000 $ ou plus, dont la totalité ou une partie est attribuable à des administrations assujetties à un filet de sécurité. Ces activités incluent l’exploitation d’une entreprise par l’entremise d’une société de personnes.

Calcul du crédit

Le montant du crédit relatif à une entreprise agricole admissible pour un exercice pertinent de la redevance sur les combustibles serait égal aux dépenses agricoles admissibles attribuables aux administrations assujetties à un filet de sécurité dans l’année civile où commence l’exercice de la redevance sur les combustibles, multipliées par le taux du paiement, établi par le ministre des Finances pour l’exercice de la redevance sur les combustibles. Conformément au traitement général des crédits d’impôt pour les entreprises, les montants du crédit seraient inclus au revenu imposable de l’entreprise pour l’année d’imposition où le crédit est réclamé.

Lorsqu’une entreprise agricole admissible est exploitée par l’entremise d’une société de personnes, le crédit serait réclamé par une société, un particulier ou une fiducie qui est un associé de la société de personnes à la fin de l’exercice de la société de personnes. La société de personnes calculerait le montant des dépenses agricoles admissibles et chaque associé calculerait ensuite son versement au titre du crédit en fonction de son pourcentage de participation dans la société de personnes. Des règles spéciales s’appliqueraient au calcul du versement au titre du crédit d’un associé lorsqu’une participation dans une société de personnes est détenue directement par l’intermédiaire d’une ou de plusieurs sociétés de personnes.

Dépenses agricoles admissibles

Aux fins du calcul de ce crédit d’impôt, les dépenses agricoles admissibles sont des montants déduits dans le calcul du revenu provenant de l’agriculture aux fins d’impôt, excluant les déductions découlant d’ajustements de l’inventaire obligatoires et optionnels et des opérations avec des parties ayant un lien de dépendance.

Lorsque les années d’imposition ne correspondent pas à l’année civile, les dépenses agricoles admissibles seraient réparties à chaque année civile en fonction du nombre de jours dans l’année civile par rapport au nombre total de jours de l’année d’imposition et assujetties au taux de paiement applicable pour l’année civile.

Pour être qualifiées de dépenses agricoles admissibles, les dépenses doivent également être attribuables à une ou plusieurs administrations assujetties à un filet de sécurité. Pour les entreprises qui exercent leurs activités dans plusieurs administrations, les dépenses agricoles admissibles décrites ci-dessus seraient réparties selon les règles d’affectation suivantes :

Taux de paiement

Le ministre des Finances a précisé les taux de paiement pour les dépenses agricoles admissibles engagées au cours des années civiles 2021 et 2022, qui correspondent aux retours des produits de la redevance pour les combustibles provenant des exercices 2021-2022 et 2022-2023 de la redevance pour les combustibles, respectivement. Les entreprises peuvent réclamer ces crédits d’impôt remboursables au moyen de leurs déclarations de revenus qui incluent les années civiles 2021 et 2022.

Tableau A3.1
Taux de paiement pour les agriculteurs, établis par le ministre des Finances
  2021 2022
Montant par 1 000 $ en dépenses agricoles admissibles 1,47 $ 1,73 $

Taxe sur les logements sous-utilisés

Dans le budget de 2021, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention d’instaurer une taxe nationale annuelle de 1 % sur la valeur de biens immobiliers résidentiels au Canada, appartenant à des non-résidents, non-Canadiens, qui sont considérés  vacants ou sous-utilisés (la « Taxe sur les logements sous-utilisés »). Une consultation a eu lieu, par l’entremise du ministère des Finances du Canada, du 6 août au 17 septembre 2021, et dans les cas appropriés, la rétroaction des intervenants a été prise en compte dans le cadre de la conception finale du régime de taxation proposé.

Par conséquent, en plus des exemptions décrites dans le document de consultation, il est proposé que la participation d’un propriétaire dans un immeuble résidentiel soit exonérée de la Taxe sur les logements sous-utilisés pour une année civile si une résidence qui fait partie de l’immeuble résidentiel sert, pour l’année civile, de lieu de résidence habituelle : 1) du propriétaire; 2) de l’époux ou conjoint de fait du propriétaire; ou 3) d’un particulier qui est l’enfant du propriétaire ou de l’époux ou du conjoint de fait du propriétaire, mais seulement si l’enfant se trouve au Canada aux fins d’études autorisées et que l’occupation se rapporte à cette fin.

En outre, le gouvernement prévoit introduire une exemption pour les propriétés de vacances ou de loisirs qui s’appliquerait à la participation du propriétaire dans un immeuble résidentiel pour une année civile si l’immeuble : 1) est situé dans une région du Canada qui n’est pas une région urbaine situé dans une région métropolitaine de recensement ou dans une agglomération de recensement comptant 30 000 résidents ou plus; et 2) est utilisé par le propriétaire (ou son époux ou conjoint de fait) personnellement pendant au moins quatre semaines de l’année civile.

Un propriétaire admissible à l’une ou l’autre des exemptions ci-dessus demanderait l’exemption dans la déclaration annuelle qu’il serait tenu de produire auprès de l’Agence du revenu du Canada relativement à l’immeuble résidentiel.

Il est proposé que la Taxe sur les logements sous-utilisés soit en vigueur pour l’année civile 2022.

Les déclarations initiales pour la Taxe sur les logements sous-utilisés pour l’année civile 2022 devront être produites auprès l’Agence du revenu du Canada au plus tard le 30 avril 2023 et toute taxe payable devra être versée au plus tard à cette date.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s'il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification :