Language selection

Search

New Support for Tourism and Hospitality

Providing new supports for Canada’s hardest hit sectors.

Tourism and hospitality

Approximately 750,000 workers depend on tourism and the sector creates 2 per cent of Canada’s gross domestic product (GDP). Small and medium sized firms dominate the tourism sector and it employs a higher proportion of youth, women and Indigenous Peoples compared to their share of the workforce.

Pandemic restrictions have taken a toll on Canada’s tourism industry — on jobs, businesses and communities — and it is expected that the uncertainty will persist into 2021. To date, approximately $9.7 billion is estimated to have flowed to businesses in these sectors through the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy, Canada Emergency Business Account and the Canada Emergency Commercial Rent Assistance program.

New Support for Highly Affected Sectors

As outlined in the Speech from the Throne, some businesses, particularly those in highly-affected sectors like tourism and hospitality, have struggled to access sufficient financing. The government proposes to work with financial institutions in the near term to offer loans on more generous terms to the hardest hit businesses, to help ensure they remain viable and in place to drive future economic growth.

Proposed Investment

Regional Relief and Recovery Fund

The Regional Relief and Recovery Fund (RRRF), operated through Regional Development Agencies, has been a key support for businesses in the tourism sector. The additional $500 million proposed for the RRRF through the Fall Economic Statement would bring total funding to over $2.0 billion in this fund. To date, the RRRF has provided $202 million in support to 2,830 tourism-related businesses.

Proposed Investment

Supporting Workers in the Live Events and Arts Sectors

Cultural and recreation industries, which employ hundreds of thousands of Canadians, have been particularly hard hit by the pandemic, being among the first to shut down and likely among the last to return to regular activities.

Proposed Investments

The government understands that certain major live events and festivals will require unique support. The government will work with industry to prevent the closure of unique and irreplaceable flagship events and festivals across Canada, and to ensure the survival of key, globally-recognized assets in this sector.

To address the impact of COVID-19 on film and television productions across the country, the government announced a $50 million Short-Term Compensation Fund in September 2020. This initiative is compensating for the lack of insurance coverage for COVID-19–related filming interruptions and production shutdowns.

Continuing Support for Businesses

To see people through this crisis, the government has introduced a broad set of federal government measures for businesses of all sizes across all sectors. Programs like the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy have helped protect over 3.9 million jobs, while the Canada Emergency Business Account has helped over 790,000 small businesses and not-for-profits weather this storm. The new Canada Emergency Rent Subsidy will help affected businesses pay their rent and mortgage interest, and Lockdown Support will make sure that eligible businesses that have to significantly restrict their activities as a result of a public health order get extra support to cover their eligible expenses.

Proposed Investments

More Information

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Nouveau soutien pour les secteurs du tourisme et de l’accueil

Offrir de nouvelles mesures de soutien aux secteurs canadiens les plus durement touchés.

Tourisme et accueil

Environ 750 000 travailleurs dépendent du tourisme, lequel représente 2 % du produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Canada. Ce secteur compte surtout des petites et moyennes entreprises et emploie une proportion de jeunes, de femmes et d’Autochtones plus élevée que sa part du marché du travail.

Les restrictions liées à la pandémie ont eu de fortes répercussions sur l’industrie touristique du Canada – sur l’emploi, les entreprises et les communautés – et on s’attend à ce que l’incertitude persiste en 2021. Jusqu’à présent, un montant estimatif d’environ 9,7 milliards de dollars a été versé à des entreprises de ces secteurs par l’entremise de la Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada, du Compte d’urgence pour les entreprises canadiennes et du programme de l’Aide d’urgence du Canada pour le loyer commercial.

Nouveau soutien pour les secteurs très touchés

Comme il est mentionné dans le discours du Trône, certaines entreprises, en particulier celles qui évoluent dans des secteurs très touchés comme le tourisme et l’accueil, ont eu de la difficulté à obtenir un financement suffisant. Le gouvernement propose de collaborer avec les institutions financières à court terme afin d’offrir des prêts comportant des modalités plus généreuses aux entreprises les plus durement touchées, afin qu’elles demeurent viables et en activité pour alimenter la croissance économique à venir.

Investissement proposé

Fonds d’aide et de relance régionale

Le Fonds d’aide et de relance régionale (FARR), administré par les agences de développement régional, a été d’un soutien essentiel aux entreprises du secteur du tourisme. L’injection supplémentaire de 500 millions de dollars proposée dans l’Énoncé économique de l’automne porterait le financement total du FARR à plus de 2,0 milliards de dollars. À ce jour, le FARR a fourni 202 millions de dollars à 2 830 entreprises touristiques.

Investissement proposé

Soutien pour les travailleurs des secteurs des événements en direct et des arts

La pandémie a touché particulièrement durement les industries culturelles et des loisirs, qui emploient des centaines de milliers de Canadiens. Elles ont été parmi les premières à fermer leurs portes et seront probablement parmi les dernières à reprendre leurs activités normales.

Investissements proposé

Le gouvernement comprend que certains festivals et événements en direct importants auront besoin d’un soutien spécifique. Il collaborera avec l’industrie pour prévenir la disparition d’événements et de festivals phares uniques et irremplaçables d’un bout à l’autre du Canada, et pour assurer la survie d’atouts clés reconnus mondialement dans ce secteur.

Pour répondre aux répercussions de la COVID 19 sur les productions cinématographiques et télévisuelles de l’ensemble du pays, le gouvernement a annoncé en septembre 2020 la création du Fonds d’indemnisation à court terme pour productions audiovisuelles canadiennes de 50 millions de dollars. Cette initiative vise à compenser l’absence d’assurance couvrant les interruptions de tournage et les abandons de production liés à la COVID 19.

Soutien continu aux entreprises

Pour aider les gens à traverser cette crise, le gouvernement a instauré un vaste ensemble de mesures fédérales à l’intention des entreprises de toutes les tailles et de tous les secteurs. Des programmes comme la Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada ont aidé à protéger plus de 3,9 millions d’emplois, tandis que le Compte d’urgence pour les entreprises canadiennes a aidé plus de 790 000 petites entreprises et organismes à but non lucratif à affronter cette tempête. La nouvelle Subvention d’urgence du Canada pour le loyer aidera les entreprises touchées à payer leur loyer et leurs intérêts hypothécaires, et la mesure de soutien en cas de confinement permettra aux entreprises admissibles qui doivent restreindre considérablement leurs activités en raison d’une ordonnance de santé publique d’obtenir une aide supplémentaire pour couvrir leur dépenses admissibles.

Investissements proposé

Renseignements supplémentaires

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification :